KineMON-5U Ultra-Bright Monitor vs Third-party

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

Justin
    Participant

Hey just wanted to introduce myself to the community as it has been such a great resource in making my decision to move toward Kinefinity.

I am a visual artist living in Melbourne, Australia, and work mostly with video and installation. I’ve always been interested more in higher-production values other than a ‘video-art’ aesthetic, which has led me up/down? the slippery slope of quality gear. I had been using a Canon C100 and souped-up A7Sii, which ended up a Fiesta in a Raptor body. Instead of getting a new C200, which was my first pick, I ended up going with a used Terra 4K. I love the form-factor, image-quality and functionality, and particularly like the ecosystem. Being able to upgrade components and maybe a body at some stage made a lot of sense after constantly re-rigging and updating a DSLR system as my needs grew.

My question: the kit I purchased has a KineMON 5″ Full-HD Monitor, which seems to have lackluster performance, and my first upgrade will be a monitor. How has peoples experience of the KineMON-5U Ultra-Bright Monitor been in practice? I like the idea of keeping everything neatly powered/cabled through one system, but is it worth considering a SmallHD 502 or Atomos Shinobi for example? HDMI vs SDI connection?

Apologies if I am duplicating posts, I could only find info on the KineMON 5″ Full-HD vs SmallHD 502, and thought it worth considering against the Ultra Bright.

Thanks and looking forward to the forum in the future

raafi

Hey Justin, welcome to the forum! [I’m in the middle of upgrading it, btw, and hope to relaunch it before the summer’s out on a different software]