Kinemini Codec test

Post Reply
User avatar
filmcyfrowy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:54 am
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:11 am

I made a quick comparison of KineMini codecs: CinemaDNG, Cineform & KRW (new one - ratio 3:1) - all shot in 4K.
Well, thats is a good news - you can shoot now Cineform in 4K. It was impossible in preview firmware. It started to record for 4 seconds and than stopped. EDIT - It's not true. You can't. You can shoot Cineform for 10 sec and than you get FLUSH instead of REC and it stops.

CinemaDNG & KRW was transcoded to Cineform RAW by Kinestation.
One frame of CinemaDNG is 13.3MB vs one frame of KRW - 3.8MB. Honestly I cannot see differences between these three codecs. Maybe you can when you add tones of effects. DNG will handle it better.
I also checked new LUT's - v.09 neutral & dslr. And I play with my settings.



You can download RAW files:
DNG - https://mega.co.nz/#!s45QhQpC!HGEH_U3wK ... hHVgooE2hI
Cineform - http://mega.co.nz/#!88YwHTAA!b2c-21rxgJ ... yhAOfv7iv0
KRW - https://mega.co.nz/#!t1oDHCQQ!oIsN3mk6k ... hAiiEmNllM
KRW transcoded to Cineform - https://mega.co.nz/#!osBiARTZ!c3xwv7p6z ... FMbxPGk6NI
Last edited by filmcyfrowy on Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:24 pm, edited 3 times in total.
KINEMINI 4K, RED EPIC, CANON C300, CANON C100, SONY FS700, ODYSSEY 7Q, BLACKMAGIC POCKET - http://www.fcrent.pl http://www.filmcyfrowy.net

User avatar
SaxRix
Site Admin
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:44 pm

Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:52 pm

That is great, thanks FilmCyfrowy! 4k cineform is also good news! Are you applying the LUTs via Speedgrade?

User avatar
filmcyfrowy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:54 am
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:58 pm

No, I work with DaVinci Resolve and Adobe Premiere. In this case I transcoded all footage to Cineform and imported it to Premiere (applied LUT by Lumetri Effect). I don't use Speedgrade. Does Filmconvert work in Speedgrade?
KINEMINI 4K, RED EPIC, CANON C300, CANON C100, SONY FS700, ODYSSEY 7Q, BLACKMAGIC POCKET - http://www.fcrent.pl http://www.filmcyfrowy.net

User avatar
SaxRix
Site Admin
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:44 pm

Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:26 pm

I don't believe so. I am just aware that grading KineMINI footage in Resolve can be quite a pain at the minute due to having to apply two LUTs and the way Resolve handles LUTs is quite unintuitive. I believe they are (kinefinity & blackmagic) both working on a solution for it though no official word on that.

In the case of the codecs though, they all look great. As you said, the DNGs will always handle heavier effects etc, but they will all hold up very well in general.

Can you do both cineform UHD & full 4K now internally?

User avatar
filmcyfrowy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:54 am
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm

You're right - DaVinci & KineMini LUT' are pain.

Sorry, I checked it again and you can shoot Cineform RAW in 4K for aprox. 10 sec. :(
Than you get FLUSH instead of REC and it stops. It's a shame :(

Image

Looks like Kinefinity couldn't handle to make camera shoot 4K in Cineform and they added KRW. That's make sense.
KINEMINI 4K, RED EPIC, CANON C300, CANON C100, SONY FS700, ODYSSEY 7Q, BLACKMAGIC POCKET - http://www.fcrent.pl http://www.filmcyfrowy.net

User avatar
George A.
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 7:30 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:06 pm

Yeah 4K Cineform would be great. But as it is software encoding I don't think the processor can keep up. The KineMax should be able to handle it either by heftier processor or more cooling and over clocking.

Thanks for the share. Your stuff is really good and helps the community.
Kinemini 4K, Canon 5D4, Canon C100MKII

jasonxinzhou
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:52 am

Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:39 am

In my test, 9s@25fps 4k DCI cineform then FLUSH and recording stopped. I DID got 9 seconds usable 4K cineform footage.

User avatar
aspirepro
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:10 pm

Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:47 pm

According to the report that newsshooter did at the BIRTV, its not the camera that can't handle the Cineform 4K its the Cineform codec that is not advanced enough to handle it yet...

http://www.newsshooter.com/2014/09/03/b ... ed-colour/

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest